When you are convicted of a sex crime such as molestation, rape, sexual assault, lewd acts, California Penal code section 290 requires that you register as a “sex offender” for the rest of your life so long as you are residing/working in the state of California. Failing to register is a criminal charge in itself and can be charged as a misdemeanor or even a felony, depending on the underlying sex crime.
On Wednesday November 6, 2013, Arthur Green, a 50 year old man from Palmdale was arrested for failing to register as a sex offender.
The arrest occurred during a compliance check of seven locations of sex offender registered in the Palmdale area.
Green was arrested and booked on charges of failure to register as a sex offender and possibly falsifying his address at the time of registration.
His bail was set at $20,000 and has a court date set up for the following Friday.
Sex offenders were all in compliance at the other six locations that were checked.
Depending on what sex crime Green was originally convicted of that required him to register, he may be facing additional misdemeanor or felony charges that may increase and add on to his penalties.
Call an LA Sex Crime Defense Attorney for a free face to face consultation.